Set Future Convention Dates

L OOKING AHEAD, the Governing Board of the American Oil Chemists' Society discussed future convention locations and dates at its two meetings at the Sheraton-Jefferson hotel in St. Louis April 30 and May 3, with the following results:

New Orleans and Chicago, 1964 and 1967

Houston and Cincinnati, 1965

Los Angeles and Philadelphia, 1966

The recommendation of the Education Committee that there be a 1962 short course on industrial fatty chemicals, with W.C. Ault and Daniel Swern as co-chairmen, was

approved.

Harold Slosson and E.M. James were approved for transfer from active membership to emeritus. Active junior dues were raised from \$5 to \$5.50 as of 1962. T.L. Rettger of Memphis, Tenn., was appointed executive secretary of the Society, effective June 1, to succeed Mrs. Lucy R. Hawkins.

A new rate card, showing a $7\frac{1}{2}\%$ increase in advertising rates effective July 1, was approved upon the recommendation of the Journal Committee, after consideration by the

Advertising Committee.

New Orleans representatives were reappointed: J.J. Ganucheau and T.H. Hopper. Also reappointed as chairman of the Journal Committee and editor of the Journal was A.R. Baldwin. A special committee was named to consider referee certification: R.W. Bates, chairman, N.W. Ziels, and A.S. Richardson.

All members of the Examination Board were reappointed: N.W. Ziels, chairman, R.T. Doughtie Jr., E.R. Hahn, R.R.

King, and R.C. Stillman.

T.H. Hopper was named chairman of a special committee on constitution and by-laws to consider qualifications for emeritus membership, elimination of the three-months grace period for unpaid membership dues, membership year, fiscal year, succession of officers upon death, disposal of convention funds to agree with convention manual, section representation on the Governing Board, referee certification, etc.

It was agreed that the secretary of the Society should act as liaison officer with the sections. New members of the Journal Committee were announced as W.C. Ault, G.C. Cavanagh, and D.H. Wheeler for three-year terms, replacing J.C. Cowan, R.T. O'Connor, and Dorothy Rathmann. R.A. Reiners was reappointed chairman of the Abstracts Committee, and E.M. Sallee, technical editor of the Official

and Tentative Methods of Analysis.

Representatives to affiliated groups were also named: Inter-Society Color Council—W.T. Coleman, chairman, Francis Scofield, and H.B. Stevenson as representatives, and the following as accredited delegates, R.T. O'Connor, A.L. Schulerud, H.G. Shimp, R.J. Smith, and R.C. Stillman; National Fire Protection Association, Flammable Liquids Committee, also Section Committee on Solvent Extraction—P.R. Sheffer; National Research Council, food protection committee—R.T. Milner; Agricultural Research Institute—S.B. Detwiler Jr.; U.S.A. Committee for ISO/TC 48, committee on international standards for laboratory glassware—W.J. Paterson; and Advisory Board, Office of Critical Tables, Academy Research Council—A.L. Sawyer.

Consideration of publication of a membership directory in 1962 was put over until the fall meeting of the Governing

Board in Chicago.

Attendance Tops 500

A SMALL, energetic convention committee put on the 52nd annual meeting of the American Oil Chemists' Society at the Sheraton-Jefferson hotel in St. Louis May 1-3 and drew an attendance of 502. There were 329 members, 90 nonmembers, and 83 ladies. Of the first two classifications there were 60 tickets for single sessions.

General chairman was E. L. Metcalf of the R. J. Brown Company, assisted by F. W. Ries and J. W. Baggs. T. J. Potts of the Ralston Purina Company was program chairman, R. T. Doughtie Jr. of the U.S.D.A., Memphis, golf and



T.L. Rettger (1921), emeritus member of the American Oil Chemists' Society and retired division chemist, Buckeye Cotton Oil Company, Memphis, Tenn., was appointed executive secretary of the Society, effective June 1, 1961, with headquarters at 35 E. Wacker drive, Chicago 1, Ill. He has been active on several Society committees.

hotel chairman, Alexander Kitun of the P. D. George Company, registration chairman.

Sunday, April 30, was busy with committee meetings, registration, Board meeting with R. W. Bates in the chair, a mixer for early arrivals under the sponsorship of several companies, and the Past Presidents' dinner at the Missouri Athletic club. May Day was devoted to a short business session, of which the principal feature was the presidential address by Mr. Bates; to a choice of trips: Ralston Purina Research Farm and Laboratories or Anheuser-Busch Inc., golf tournament, or seminar on toxic residues, which was attended by 100 or more.

Triple sessions marked the technical program on Tuesday and Wednesday morning, and the annual Awards luncheon closed the meeting formally. Smalley certificates were presented, also the two cups (Smalley and the new cottonseed trophy presented by Barrow-Agee), to the winners in the check sample series, by W. J. Miller, chairman. A. E. MacGee and R. T. Doughtie Jr. gave out the golf prizes, and D. H. Wheeler put the Bond medal in the hands of D. C. Malins, to be given to H. K. Mangold, who presented the best paper at the two 1960 meetings. Both authors were given certificates. In a final ceremony Lamar Kishlar, president of the Society in 1943, told how the late Felix Paquin, first president, consulted him about setting up a fund to defray the expense of giving a key annually to the outgoing president, and presented the key this year to Mr. Bates. The fund is in the form of a \$500 government bond.

After the luncheon the incoming Governing Board met with A. R. Baldwin presiding.

The ladies, under the chairmanship of Mrs. Metcalt, enjoyed shopping tours, a tour of the city including the Missouri Botanical Garden's Climatron, and a luncheon Tuesday in the Sheraton-Jefferson.

At the dinner dance Tuesday Mrs. Lucy R. Hawkins, retiring as executive secretary after 17 years with the Society, was given a handsome diamond-studded Swiss watch by the various sections, J.T.R. Andrews, and J.J. Ganucheau. A.E. MacGee made the presentation for the membership. A.S. Richardson, president of the Society in 1931, won a large silver tray as door prize and then presented it to Mrs. Hawkins.



ST. LOUIS COMMITTEE—The principal figures in running the 52nd annual meeting of the American Oil Chemists' Society in St. Louis May 1-3 are shown above: T.J. Potts, A. Kitun, E.L. Metcalf, R.T. Doughtie Jr. (of Memphis), J.M. Baggs, and F.W. Ries.